Reviews Villa Wyss

All reviews from VRBO and AIRBNB


Doug from Spokane, Washington (USA) wrote…
Stayed January 2023

Was as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. Excellent, safe and secure location. Maxima is awesome! Club pool and golf course are only yards away, which was very convenient. Only negative, which wasn’t a big deal is that wood fire oven outside isn’t working and some equipment in the gym were not working. David was also very helpful and communicated well. 

BAVARO * * * * *

James N. wrote…
Stayed December 2022

Property was a good fit for our family.


Angela wrote…
Stayed June 2022

We had an amazing time in this beautiful Villa! The ambience and decor was serene and relaxing. It truly felt like living in paradise! The outdoor space and pool was incredible as well. We all fell in love with the housekeeper, Maxima who was soooo kind and sweet to us! We utilized private chef services with Chef Danny who’s food was consistently delicious and delectable. Our villa coordinator, David, did an overall fair job. However, there was a miscommunication issue regarding pick-up set up for one of our nights out. Additionally, I asked him to keep our agenda details a secret from our Bride (bachelorette trip) and he slipped up numerous times in front of her. Thankfully, our bride acted surprised, but it was disheartening every time he did so. Especially, because the surprise element was discussed at least twice with him. So, a little advice, don’t discuss anything of that nature—unless his assistance in coordinating is truly needed. Overall, thank you Villa Wyss!


Milanda B. wrote…
Stayed March 2022

I had the pleasure of staying at villa wyss for my birthday March 30th & let me tell you boyyyy was it a blastttt !!! I came from NYC with 5 of my best friends & family and it was more than enough space for everyone. David is a gem he is the best Concierge and he made sure all our needs were met beyond measures. The property was extremely clean and the best part is The clubhouse is right Behind the property. I stayed in the master suite of course which is beautiful!

I must say the best part of the house is maxima she is a beautiful woman with a great heart she cooked all our meals which were delicious and cooked with love we wanted to take her home with us. If you’re second missing booking this place book it you won’t be disappointed.


Jasmine wrote…
Stayed March 2022

ABSOLUTELY AMAZINGGG!!! This villa is everything and more. The pictures do no justice in showing how fabulous this villa is. My family and I had a wonderful time. David, the house manager, was beyond amazing with all of our requests and accommodations there at the villa. Maxima, the house maid, is a true ANGEL. She was extremely helpful and attentive. We will definitely be back!!!


Patty from New York (USA) wrote…
Stayed November 2021

We had a wonderful stay at this pristine villa. The entire staff was great and catered to our every need. Thanks for a relaxing holiday!

BEST VILLA & CREW * * * * *

Jasmyn S. wrote…
Stayed November 2021

I booked this villa for my 30th birthday to celebrate with friends and family and had the best time.

Stig helped us coordinate our activities and provided recommendations. The chef and team were awesome to work with and the food was incredible! Highly recommend the drink and meal plan.

The villa was stunning and the outdoor space was a blast to hang out in. I’d definitely book again and am now curious about the other locations. 🏝


Willie from Kingston, NY (USA) wrote…
Stayed October 2021

Awesome stay!!! Would highly recommend this place. Staff was amazing, very organized, great communication and great services. Very beautiful, secure and clean villa. Would stay there again.


Naidu K. wrote…
Stayed September 2021

Very Pleasant. Very well maintained and Courteous Staff. we have used our credit card to pay through VRBO. The Property Manager has charged 3.5% of the rent as a Credit card surcharge and we paid in cash.

The maid and her son are very Courteous and helpful. Keep the property very neat and clean. These two are exceptionally good.

The concierge Manager is very informative. Our trip would not have been such a pleasant one without the help of these three.

Manager’s response: Hi Naidu, thank you for your feedback. I’m very happy to hear that the villa team took excellent care of you during your stay! Yes, as specified in the (VRBO) listing and in my communications to you, we charge a 3.5% credit card fee. However, we always provide multiple payment options to make things as convenient for our clients as possible. And, as you mentioned, you decided to pay in cash, which worked out well for both of us. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again in the Dominican Republic soon. Best regards, Anders


Tony from Snellville, GA (USA) wrote…
Stayed September 2021

We had a great stay in the Villa. The maid provided breakfast and dinner for my friends and I which was amazing. The property managers David/Stig were also very helpful throughout the stay.

STRESS-FREE * * * * *

Matt C. wrote…
Stayed May 2021

From the minute we booked the trip, the team was extremely helpful. They booked golf, fishing, transfers from airport, went food shopping, arranged covid tests, etc. They were really professional. When we arrived Stig set us up with suggestions and transportation to restaurants, golf, hard rock, arranged for more food and alcohol, etc. He even gave me some golf tips. Maxima the house lady was great. She cooked breakfast and dinner and made sure everything was spotless in the house.

The property itself was great. Its a double lot so there is plenty of entertainment space outside. A great pool with a large lounge area to entertain. No problems. TVs, AC, Wifi, all good. This community is not Cap Cana or Punta Cana Resort, which are much more exclusive (and much more expensive). I highly recommend this house and this team for a stress free vacation!


Anthony from Los Angeles, CA wrote…
Stayed April 2021

Great place, just like the pictures. Outside area with amenities were perfect. Whole staff did a great job. Maxima is a hidden gem, i love her, she’s the best !!!


Marjorie wrote…
Stayed April 2021

Nos encanto el trato del Staff, todos muy atentos la casa hermosa. definitivamente we will be back.


David wrote…
Stayed January 2021

This place will surpass any expectations you may have for a getaway in this beautiful island. The villa feels so warm, and the staff is extremely helpful. We had a great stay and wi definitely be in touch to return!


Marie B. wrote…
Stayed December 2020

Staying in Villa Wyss was the best decision. The villa itself is amazing with its tropical garden and the multiple relaxing outdoor seats and tables to choose from. The swimming pool is surrounding an island with sofas and lounge chairs where we spent so much time from mornings to aperitivo.

The service is at excellent. Maxima and her son Jeffrey are present and attentive but very discreet. We followed the previous reviews and hired Maxima to cook for us fresh, local food.

We just ventured to the local restaurant on the beach twice as we enjoyed every time coming home to Maxima’s food. Alix the Manager also did a great job organizing golf and activities for us. We would recommend this villa to anybody looking for a safe and relaxing way to escape COVID.


Brittany wrote…
Stayed October 2020

Absolutely incredible!!! Exceeded all expectations. Wonderful hospitality and excellent communication/services. Mariana was amazing, along with Jeffrey and Massima! Having the chef and maid available were truly game changers. They were so helpful at all times! I can’t recommend this stay enough. We had such a wonderful time and would love to come back!!!

AWESOME STAY * * * * *

Pamela M. wrote…
Stayed October 2019

Came to Punta Cana on a golf trip. We chose this villa for convenience of location, the great reviews and the pool. Piero was great for giving us local information and taking care of all our needs. Maxima was a great hostess who wouldn’t let us lift a finger during our vacation. She made us an awesome breakfast every morning to power us up and always gave me a good luck fist pump as we headed to the golf course. Jeffery, Maxima’s son, was always helpful and happy. There was never a thing he wouldn’t do for us. The only negative I can think of is the construction next door. The pool and accommodations were outstanding, massages relaxing and the beer was cold. Thanks to Maxima, Jeffery and Piero for all they did.


Todd R. wrote…
Stayed May 2019

Can’t miss property…always on point!!!

10 STARS! * * * * *

Nicole P. wrote…
Stayed April 2019

Best experience we’ve ever had in a home away from home! Maxima and her son were absolutely amazing, we miss her cooking so much!


George D. wrote…
Stayed April 2019

Great house, great location. The staff was friendly & fantastic. We did all inclusive w chef. Food was very good w more than we could eat and they’ll do requests at anytime. The cabana within the pool is fantastic, spent almost all waking hours there. The excursions were a ton of fun and golf outstanding. Only issue we had – cable did not work the whole week. Also, be aware the 4th bedroom is small and next to kitchen. It’s not really an issue.

Manager’s response: Hi George, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We’re happy that you had a great vacation and stay at Villa Wyss. I just wanted to mention that we are indeed working on fixing the cable TV for future guests…! We hope to see you again in Punta Cana soon! Best regards, Anders


Peter K. wrote… (Villa Wyss & Lake View Villa)
Stayed April 2019

From the first moment to the last, the vacation was flawless. The staff and chef were impeccable—barely seen and never heard. And Mariana, the villa coordinator, anticipated every need. Will be back for years to come. Thanks.


Zahir C. from New York wrote…
Stayed March 2019

We rented this house for a 30th Birthday Party and everything was top notch! Piero the Villa Manager welcomes you like family and is there to handle your every need. We also opted for the chef and maid options for the full duration of the stay and it was well worth it. All of the meals were beautifully made and delicious. I highly recommend this villa to anyone.


Wendell G. wrote…
Stayed March 2019

Convenience of one floor and so many features we didn’t use them all. Thanks Maxima!


Dave K. wrote…
Stayed December 2018

This house is a 4 bedroom and it has 4 bedrooms 2 are quite small. The showers are small in those bedrooms. The master is beautiful and this house has allot of character. Perfect for a family to relax. The back of the house has a pool area that is spetactcular! It is a place you could spend your entire vacation. The house is isolated in Cocotal and is close to all of the entertainment. We used with the house with adjacent house and had 12 bedrooms total available. We had a great barbecue in the back of this 4 bedroom and it was the best meal we had because of the atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

AWESOME * * * * *

Todd R. wrote…
Stayed November 2018

Home away from Home…Maxima’s service is best in class!!!

Highly recommend.


Anonymous wrote…
Stayed October 2018

Our trip started off a little rough The Villa had an AC unit not working in the main room and no hot water in all of the bedroom bathrooms. Our host was very attentive to our needs and recovered quickly I am only giving 4 stars because the house lighting was very dim in all of the rooms so applying make-up and getting dressed in the afternoon or evening with a house full of ladies was a challenge. Also entering into the community security guard gate was an issue every time. Upside it’s very safe. I would definitely recommend renting a car because everything is a few miles out, not walking distance like the description says-including the beaches-If you are not an owner, you cannot use the club amenities and I was under the impression that we would have a golf cart accessible.


Monique E. from Atlanta wrote…
Stayed August 2018

This was my second time staying at the Villa Wyss; which says a lot. The maid and chef is absolutely the best and accommodating. The property is well maintained. This is my home when I visit Punta Cana. I will be returning again.


Daniel R. wrote…
Stayed July 2018

We really enjoyed this house. What you see in the pictures is exactly what you get. Maxima (the maid) is an absolute sweetheart and makes a great breakfast! Piero made sure that we were well taken care of and had great suggestions for food and excursions and was a very fun and wonderful man. We had a chef 2 different nights and both dinners were fantastic. As far as the electricity bill, ours was $348 USD for 8 days, so that was exactly the range we were told before going. If you are going to the Dominican I highly recommend this place!

SUPER VALUE * * * * *

Todd R. wrote…
Stayed May 2018

The Villa is spectacular, well maintained and perfect getaway. Our host Piero, is aces…always available and eager to accommodate. The onsite staff Maxima, is very sweet and moves with the skill of a ninja. (precise). You must try her Dominican style spaghetti…( muy delicioso)

I highly recommend this space !!!!


Monet O. wrote…
Stayed September 2017

This was my 2nd time returning back to DR and just like the first time, my family and I were in awe. Not only is the staff amazing, but everyone from the management on down were hands on. It’s no wonder why my family wanted to come right back after the amazing time we had in 2016! And our party grew, we ended up getting 2 villas, why? Because they are just that amazing! Last year, Anders, introduced me to Villa Wyss, and I knew then, I had to stay here too! Not only is the decor fascinating, but the backyard pool was made for a party…and we had us a pool party which was indeed one of the highlights of our trip. Our housekeeper was thee sweetest and she kept our rooms clean and inviting. Of course her welcoming spirit was always a plus and she even helped me with my spanish too! At this point, the people of Palmera Villas are family…and I will always come back again and again! Thank you Villa Wyss for an amazing stay….


Kelly B. wrote…
Stayed August 2017

The electricity bill was SHOCKING! Beware of the the CoCo Bungo excursion, it is not as it is described, at all! Piero and Maxima were great. The chef was superb! We enjoyed celebrating our friends 50th birthday there. Relaxing.

Manager’s response: Hi Kelly Thank you for your nice feedback. We try to maintain the property as well as we can, and I am happy that you enjoyed the staff. However I am surprised to hear that you feel the electricity was shocking. It is below what we told you it would be. We told you to calculate USD 10-20 per bedroom per day. Your electricity bill after 5 nights was USD 298.50. We wold you to expect between 200-400 depending on how much you run the A/C in the villa, so I am surprised to hear that you found this shocking. Please also let me know what the issue with the CocoBongo night club was. I would love to follow up on that. Best regards, Anders.


Lauren S. wrote…
Stayed July 2017

We took advantage of most of the extras available to us on this stay – and we were happy that we did! Piero, our property manager, was very helpful and really went the extra mile to help us plan activities and enhance our stay. “Maxima” was fantastic and she was a excellent chef in her own right (She helped prepared breakfast for us on several days) and we hired the chef for two days and wow – “Bertrand” was incredible! The food was fantastic and the house was beautiful. The only negative for us was a bug problem in the far bedroom closest to the kitchen. Our daughter wound up getting very sick on this trip (not traceable to anything she ate that her siblings didn’t also eat) and I don’t think it helped that she emptied an entire can of bug spray around the perimeter of her room to try and ward off several different kinds of insects. I think this was because their room was next to the connecting screen door to outside area so it was an easy point of entry for insects. I think the price point for this villa and the fact that the tenant pays the electricity should absolutely translate to a bug free bedroom and closed doors to keep the insects out and the AC (which was ridiculously expensive) in. Like over $427 US for the week – so add that to your budget as you plan if you stay here. I was concerned about being so far from the beach at first but the backyard here was more enjoyable than a few of the beaches we visited with the exception of Macao. It was easy to walk to the mall and grocery store and a few restaurants. Overall a beautiful home in a very secure community with an excellent staff! We would highly recommend! (Just keep the back door closed!)

Manager’s response: Hi Lauren, Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Villa Wyss! We’re happy that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the facilities, the food and the service from our staff. We’re really sorry to hear about your trouble with the insects and only wish you had informed us of this immediately so we could’ve taken care of it for you and your daughter could’ve avoided getting sick. As you know, the villa manager (Piero) came by every day but he was not aware of the insect issue as no one ever told him of this. We do appreciate the information and have taken steps to solve the issue as best as we can for any future guests. You are absolutely right that the electricity is ridiculously expensive, which is why we always inform guests of the cost beforehand and do our best to advise on how to keep the consumption and expense to a minimum. In the end, the cost is calculated according to the guests’ consumption, which is entirely up to each individual and/or family/group. Again, thank you for your feedback and for your visit. We do hope to see you again!

BEAUTIFUL!! * * * * *

Monique E. from Atlanta wrote…
Stayed June 2017

The villa was absolutely amazing. The location was perfect. The service received was hands down impeccable. I will highly recommend the Villa Wyss for a place to reside while vacationing.


Karin P. from Southern Pines, NC wrote…
Stayed May 2017

We stayed at Villa Wyss 17-May to 24-May 2017. My husband and I took our three adult children with us and we had a great time. We rented a car and I would highly recommend that. From the minute we walked in, we loved it! The pool was our absolute favorite place to be. Pictures cannot do justice to just how beautiful and relaxing the outdoor areas really are. The home itself is spacious and clean. Plenty of room for everyone to stretch out. We are used to central air conditioning but we quickly adjusted to the individual room units and they provided much relief from the warm afternoons. The house is located very near to a mall, many restaurants and a grocery store. We went to the Punta Cana Resort for a couple of excursions and, while very beautiful, we much preferred the Bavaro area where the home was located. Janet assisted us with two excursions – Terracross and a Segway EcoTour. They were BOTH absolutely fantastic. We had so much fun and they were well worth the money. We also ate at the Marina at the Aqua Mare restaurant – the food was wonderful! We went to the Pearl Beach Club (loved it) and to Juanillo Beach (ate at Little John’s – also great!). I highly recommend both of those locations. Maxima and Jose Antonio were wonderful hosts and took care of any additional request that we had. Maxima is also an outstanding cook! Everyone we came in contact with was so nice and kind – we had never been to the DR before but we will definitely return! When we got home, everyone agreed that was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken – after 26 years I finally got it right! Thank you to all of the staff that helped us enjoy our wonderful vacation.


Kelly L. wrote…
Stayed March 2017

My family of five, plus three friends (eight total) stayed at this beautiful property. It was clean, well staffed (Maxima was incredibly nice and helpful) and decorated nicely. Lots of room. Nice pool. Good proximity to shopping and beaches. The management staff, Jose and Piero were fabulous. They were personal concierges–always available to help with a ride, recommendation or reservation. We didn’t experience any unexpected charges or fees–Anders, from Palmera rentals was honest and upfront.

One complaint was that we had a portable speaker stolen from our patio–it is suspected the grounds keepers from the adjacent golf course took it. Theft always puts a downer on things. Next (not necessarily a complaint), is that the house is located in a gated golf community that is largely populated by the locals. If you want a true Dominican experience, this is for you. We had no problems (except for stolen speaker), but it was not what we envisioned from the photos. In the end, it was worth it. Again, the management company was great. And the staff at the house was too! In my opinion, you must rent a car if you want to stay here. Makes life so much easier. Also, eat in the nicer restaurants. My son & I got a touch of the stomach bug from a seafood place. Not fun.

Manager’s response: Hi Kelly, I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay. It was also our pleasure to have you come and stay with us. I am very sad to hear that you lost a speaker. As you know we informed the head of security right away. Every employ leaving the property are always subject to a full search and they would never be able to get a speaker out. We are doing what we can to recover this speaker and we will keep you posted. This is the first time ever that we have and anything stolen in this property or in any of our properties within the Cocotal golf & Country Club. I am also a little confused when you say that the villa and Cocotal is a TRUE Dominican Experience. It is in fact anything BUT a true Dominican Experience. The community had over 30 different nationalities living there, and it is considered one of the upscale and SAFE gated communities, where there is in fact very few Dominicans living. I personally live 300 yards away from this villa and I have lived in this community since 2007, and I love it because it is in fact one of the best gated residential area with mainly expats living there. Anyway we are happy to hear that you had a great stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Anders.


Jeff F. wrote…
Stayed March 2017

We recently ventured to Punta Cana to enjoy spring break with our two college age children. We decided against all inclusive to avoid typical spring break activities, and instead truly relax. We could not have found a better place to relax than Villa Wyss.

Although the pictures on VRBO look impressive, they do not do the property justice. The backyard is completely secluded even though the home is surrounded by other homes and condos. The pool is beautiful, and very well maintained. It was cleaned twice during our visit. Additionally, the outdoor kitchen / grill area is wonderful. We enjoyed several dinners made on the large outdoor barbeque, and ate a leisurely dinner under the gazebo area. There are multiple areas to relax and read a book. If you like sun, great. There are lounge chairs in the yard. If you like shade, there is a very nice veranda on the back of the home, and then the gazebo area in the center of the pool.

The home itself is very spacious, and well appointed. Everything you need is on hand. The beds are comfortable, but maybe not the most comfortable you’ve ever slept on. Each bedroom has its own bathroom which is sufficient, but not luxurious. The kitchen has everything on hand you’ll need to prepare your meals. Shopping for groceries is easy as the Super Lama is just a 10 minute walk to the mall that sits across the road from the Cocotal property. We did book the chef for one day as we were celebrating a milestone anniversary. Bertrand, the chef, cooked breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was good, but dinner was out of this world. The price was also reasonable in comparison to eating at one of the local places.

Two of the best things about the property are Maxima, the housekeeper, and Jose Anotonio, the property manager. Maxima is very attentive, and very sweet. If possible, get her to make you some “torta de maiz”. Jose was very helpful in arranging transportation to the excursions we had booked through the Palmera Group. Although expensive, the Samana excursion was wonderful. Also, do try Captain Cook’s restaurant. Definitely allow Jose to arrange for transportation as it is in an area that tourists may not frequent as often. However, it is well worth it.

The only issue we had was getting access to the all inclusive property that is supposed to be included with the rental. However, it was not a huge deal for us as the villa itself is so nice. We absolutely enjoyed our time at Villa Wyss.

Manager’s response: Hi Jeff, Thank you for your nice words. We enjoyed having you here in Punta Cana and hope to see you soon again. I am a bit confused about the access to the All Inclusive resort. I assume you are talking about Melia Caribe Tropical, across the street. I don’t know who told you that you would have access to that, as it is no-where in any of our communication. The access to that resort is ONLY for property owners, and we still have to buy a DAYPASS to use the hotel. As a rental client you can buy a daypass to use the facilities there and the price is around USD 75-100 per person per 1/2 day. But you can do this at any of the all inclusive properties. Best regards, Anders

AMAZING * * * * *

Brian C. wrote…
Stayed March 2017

amazing property & staff. Outstanding stay


Mike S. wrote…
Stayed February 2017

This house is absolutely amazing. It looks exactly like the pictures–even better. Each bedroom is fantastic and has its own bathroom. There is a large kitchen and a lot of common area. The pool is amazing and large for this type of rental. There is a full time maid at the house. She was so great to us. We did not expect this. She helped us with everything and even cooked for us. (She does not speak English). We also had a house manager who checked on us a couple times a day and took us a few places where we needed to go. He was amazing as well. He also made some restaurant reservations for us. Also–do not miss the beach club! They will transport you for free. We spent a whole day there. It was amazing. We had 5 adults and there was plenty of space for a couple more. The property is gated and we felt very safe. We walked to down town a couple of times. We did not know we had to pay the electric bill at the end but it was not expensive and we had no problem paying it. I would highly recommend this place! I would rent it again for sure.


Bekah Q. wrote…
Stayed December 2016

A group of us 8 friends (a few us couples) stayed here three nights and had an absolutely amazing time. The house had every amenity we could think of and more. We were able to enjoy the pool in the mornings and the private beach in the afternoons. Jose, the host, and Maxima, the housekeeper were so helpful with anything we needed and made every request feel like no trouble. They had had the recommendations for activities, restaurants, and shopping that we may not have known about otherwise. The decor was beautiful. My favorite being all the dark woods used throughout the house and the Christmas decorations. The beds were incredibly comfortable and all the A/C units worked perfectly. Chef Bernard’s BBQ is highly recommended. We were able to relax and also enjoy each other’s company to the fullest.


Michael wrote…
Stayed August 2016

This place is amazing. Really liked all aspects of it. The host was available whenever we needed him at all times. Its definitely worth it. I would stay here again.


Andrew T. from Miami, USA wrote…
Stayed August 2016

I travel to Punta Cana with my friends and family 2 – 3 times per year, and for the past 3 trips we have stayed at Villa Wyss. The villa is spacious, cozy and beautifully decorated. But best of all is the BIG back yard and the fantastic pool area. When we are here we have the music going and hang out in the pool with drinks poolside.. That is what I consider a great and relaxing vacation. Food is being prepared by our chef Junior, who is always smiling and ready to prepare what ever we want Jose Antonio organizes our excursions, boat rentals and if we want to go party one night, he will organize VIP service for us in the nightclubs. Last time we went to Coco Bongo, and what a blast we had. I have already booked my next stay in this villa, where I will host my wedding, so we have rented both Villa Wyss and Lake View Villa next door (with 8 bedrooms) so we can have most of our guests stay here with us. Thank you to the whole team for all you do for us… we can’t wait to come back.