REVIEWS VP

_ND_9467

All reviews from VRBO www.vrbo.com/489663

WONDERFUL VACATION STAY – ONE OF THE MOST MEMORABLE VACATIONS EVER – EXPECTATIONS EXCEEDED * * * * *

Gary M. wrote…
Stayed May 2017 / Submitted May 13, 2017:

Where do I start? From the very beginning working with Anders Bogebjerg and his team to answer all our initial questions was great. We received quick responses and the details we needed to make us feel comfortable that our vacation would exceed all our expectations. Very professional and detailed. Make sure you understand the options and charges as part of the package. It was a party of 8 guys and we opted for the Chef for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The staff was amazing and made our stay so memorable we felt like Kings. Once you get close to your vacation time the Property Manager Pierro Fabbri takes over and further customizes your vacation. This is not the all inclusive resort experience. It is so much better because your villa stay is customized to you. Pierro sat with us and checked in daily to help us plan if we needed help or let us plan our way if we didn’t need help. Our chef made our experience personalized. Meals were based on our feedback and the times we choose.

The Villa Pandora team exceeded our expectations and we would absolutely love to return to this villa for another vacation. I would highly recommend this villa if you have several individuals or couples that want their own bedrooms and private baths. The villa is on the beach and the views are priceless. Our group felt like rock stars. If you have questions get them answered and get ready for the vacation of a lifetime. Your party will fight over the best bedrooms in this wonderful villa. LOL Security is critically important and the area in Bavaro beach where the villa is located has an outside gate, another gate near the villa, and multiple guards at night to keep your party safe. The open air spaces for barbecues and dining space off the main level will take your breath away. Things to remember (Not CONS): 1.) You cannot stay long enough, 2.) Make sure you budget for electricity, tips for staff, deposit, premium drinks, and transfers. First time renting a house or villa and I look forward to working Palmera Villas for our next vacation.

GREAT STAY * * * *

Terrance W. wrote…
Stayed April 2017 / Submitted May 3, 2017:

Our group was down for a bachelor party. The property is steps from the beach with amazing views. Very safe with security gate. The staff was great. They prepared breakfast and dinner daily for the group. The Villa was amazing, the only reason I gave 4 stars is because there was no hot water available for my entire stay. So we were forced to take cold showers daily, but other than that the trip was great.

Manager’s response: Hi Terrance, thank you for your feedback and we’re glad you had a great stay despite the lack of hot water. As you know, the water heater in the villa unfortunately broke down during your stay, despite it being relatively new. The villa staff did their best to fix it, but were unable to find the piece(s) needed to do so. As you were staying in the villa over a holiday weekend, we had no luck in resolving the water heater after your departure on May 1st. Please note that this issue has since been resolved.

LACK OF TRANSPARENCY AND COMMUNICATION * * *

Jared T. wrote…
Stayed March 2017 / Submitted April 6, 2017:

Villa Pandora provided a mixed experience during our recent trip to the DR. As a group of 14 guys staying for a long bachelor party weekend, our plan was to essentially rent a house on the beach/have the place to ourselves. Whether through miscommunication or lack of transparency, what we actually got was a quasi “all inclusive” experience that felt more like we were being nickel and dimed than enjoying a worry free vacation. The pros and cons are as follows: Pros: The house, location, views and maid staff were wonderful. The Villa, which has impressive indoor/outdoor living space and decks, sits within a beach enclave that is secure and has very close access to a beautiful beach. The views from all levels of the house to the beach were nothing short of spectacular. Restaurants nearby or on the beach were all fantastic and fairly reasonably priced. If not for the variable add-ons discussed in the Cons section below, this would have been a 10/10 experience in the Dominican. Cons: The property owner represented that the “all inclusive” option was just that, an option (or so we thought). We made it clear that we did not wish to choose that option, only rent the villa, and specifically that no chef would be needed as we could easily shop and cook for ourselves in a villa with full kitchen amenities. We arrived to find that the property manager had already purchased food and drinks for us, which of course we would have to pay for plus a 15% service charge if consumed. It was this type of variable add on that we did not sign up for nor want, having already paid a substantial amount for the four night rental. As such, we declined all provided food and drink, only to receive the hard sell from the property manager. The property manager also attempted to take liberties with restaurant and night life reservations which we did not request and had to assertively decline. With all that said, once we made it clear that we would like only to be left to ourselves and enjoy our vacation, he did acquiesce to our request. Overall, the house and location made the trip well worth it, but we would advise prospective tenants to understand fully what they are signing up for with Villa Pandora. If you are okay with paying for the rental plus variable food, drink, electricity, transportation and staff tipping costs, then you would love this property. If you are hoping for a standard Airbnb experience where you have privacy and can do your own thing, it may not be for you

Manager’s response: Hi Jared, thank you for the detailed review of your stay at Villa Pandora. We appreciate the feedback, which is very important for us. Please allow us to add a few comments:
As written: “our plan was to essentially rent a house on the beach/have the place to ourselves. Whether through miscommunication or lack of transparency, what we actually got was a quasi “all inclusive” experience…”. We’re sorry that we gave this impression.
Please note, it is clearly stated on VRBO that “the villa rental includes a full-time live-in maid, villa hostess and a full-time private gourmet chef to prepare all meals for you.” (the hostess is now a villa manager).
After booking, we did send you more detailed information concerning the kind of optional services we offer and how they work. The villa manager incorrectly took the liberty of purchasing breakfast foods, which wasn’t authorized, and we apologize for this! It was a mistake from our/his side, which he paid for himself as we did not charge you for the food in the end. This is certainly not “standard operation” and has been duly noted and corrected for future reference.
Concerning the restaurant/nightlife reservations, please know that the villa manager only makes these upon request guests and as a courtesy. As written, “If you are okay with paying for the rental plus variable food, drink, electricity, transportation and staff tipping costs, then you would love this property. If you are hoping for a standard Airbnb experience where you have privacy and can do your own thing, it may not be for you.”
This is correct. Food, drink, electricity, transportation and gratuity are not included – as is also provided in the VRBO description, the rental agreement and in the communication, we send out after a reservation is made. This is not your standard Airbnb experience or vacation rental where you just get a key for the house. We aim to provide a unique vacation experience in offering various services, BUT we understand that it might not be what everyone wants. Should you decide to book this property again, we will do our best to strive for a more transparent and on-point communication during the booking process. Thank you.

EXCELLENT UPSCALE VILLA WITH A WELL EXPERIENCE STAFF TO INCLUDE CHEF AND MAID SERVICE * * * * *

Craig J. wrote…
Stayed March / Submitted March 20, 2017:

Our group was down for a bachelor party. The property is steps from the beach with amazing views. Very safe with security gate. The staff prepared breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner daily. My group have already plan our next stay at the villa as a couples getaway.

I CELEBRATED MY 50TH BIRTHDAY AT VILLA PANDORA * * * * *

Shawn O. wrote…
Stayed February / Submitted February 20, 2017:

We had 5 couples, my best friend and my mom, niece, aunt and best friend cousins. The single ladies stayed on the 1st flr and married couples on the 2nd and 3rd fl.. We had appetizers waiting when we arrived.Ms Gisele was great, she showed me around and things to do around the Villa..From day1 Our chef and maid were Amazing.. We felt like Family.. Siraha, Charo, Roiya, we feel in love with them and appreciated all their above and beyond efforts💋 The villa was all I had imagined and each guest was in Awe… I loved my Birthday decorations in our room, thanks Charo..The food was soooooo good.. My birthday dinner Celebration was All I had planned for, from the cake from Cake Studios to the meal and the Lobster was fresh out the Carribean Sea and plenty of it. Bodil had suggested a private Catamaran the next day which we did and that was an Awesome time. Our boat was the most popular and we even had a Floating Bar🍹. Thank you for an Fantastic Exerience

MY BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION * * * * *

Chris C. wrote…
Stayed August / Submitted August 20, 2016:

We had 16 family members 8 children between 4-11 and 8 adults. It was a trip we will always remember. I was a little afraid that there would not be enough to do with the children but that was not the case. we had plenty to do. We were greeted with open arms with our excellent staff. We can’t say enough good things about them.Griselda helps interpret and helped us plan our week. She was always there to make sure everything was running smoothly. We wanted to take Charo home with us. She did things before we even asked .She was beyond fabulous !! Maria was there to help clean up . Our cook Roidy had the best meals with fresh fruits and vegetables and menu that the children even liked. We debated about an all inclusive meal plan or choosing our menu and I have to say the all inclusive worked for us. We could not take all 16 of us for dinner and we didn’t have to figure out a menu everyday. We only booked one excursion before we arrived and my recommendation is to wait till you get there to book other events but we were not in busy season. My family loved every minute of it and can’t wait to do another one of these trips. This staff is the best and I highly recommend using this villa. Chris C.

GREAT EXPERIENCE * * * * *

Corey G. from Houston wrote…
Stayed July / Submitted August 11, 2016:

I honestly don’t know what I could ask to improve on this trip. I planned a couples trip for a group of 16. The 8 bedrooms with each bedroom having their own bath was a perfect set up. Everything went flawlessly (airport transfers, chef, maids, excursion, transportation to Hard Rock club and sections to party). Bodil and Anders were clear in all communication before we arrived and answered all emails as well as asking questions to make sure we had the best experience. Once we arrived our coordinator (Griselda) was amazing taking care of us. I couldn’t have asked for much more from her. The chef prepared amazing meals and maids took care of all of our needs. And the pictures don’t capture how amazing the property is in person. You’re steps from the beach. The 2nd floor covered patio where we had all meals was an aww inspiring sight to wake up and have breakfast to as well as a relaxing location for enjoying the transition to night. Worth every penny!

ABSOLUTE FIRST CLASS! * * * * *

Wanda G wrote…
Stayed February 2016 / Submitted February 29, 2016:

I don’t know where to begin. I booked this villa for my 50th birthday. Anders contacted me immediately to confirm the arrangements and Bodil handled all other arrangements perfectly. I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about how everything would turn out but our group had an absolutely, wonderful time. Bodil confirmed all arrangements before arrival and the airport transfers went perfect. I booked the Speedboat excursion and mini Cooper tour for our group of eight and every excursion was perfect. The speed boats were great – I’m petite (5’1″), but the water was a little rough when we went snuba diving. The mini cooper tour was excellent, good for any age – highly recommended, worth every $$. Griselda – an absolute sweetheart, the villa hostess made sure we were on time to all our excursions. We lagged behind sometimes but she was very patient with us. The house staff – were magnificent. They really made our stay enjoyable and made us feel like we were home every day. Chef Roidin was great! I knew little Spanish when I arrived but by the time I left, I was able to communicate adequately times for breakfast/lunch/dinner and ask what we were eating each day; and Charro was great getting us to the table on time — I miss them already. I highly recommend this villa. The entire staff took very good care of us. We only had to show up and enjoy ourselves and that’s exactly what we did. The location is absolutely perfect and gorgeous (right on the beach). The locals are friendly. We always felt safe where ever we went.

FANTASTIC VILLA * * * * *

Jesper from London wrote…
Stayed February 2016 / Submitted February 16, 2016:

Anders & Team…fantastic Villa. Its not easy to describe in short, but the villa is perfect for a family that has kids in all ages (we have from 6y to 16y). Security is tight. And its safe to let your kids walk on their own to the beach, leaving the adults with the possibility to enjoy a glass of wine, sitting on one of the many terrasses that has 180+ degree look over the blue sea. Your team was amazing. Price level fair. We will come back!

MAGNIFICENT * * * * *

Michael B. wrote…
Stayed June 2015 / Submitted June 2015:

Coordinating a destination celebration for a group of 14 isn’t that easy; however, Anders and Bodil made it seem effortless during the booking process. They were always responsive, informative and offered great suggestions for excursions as well as coordinated all of the transfers for our group up until the travel date. From the moment we were greeted at the Villa by Griselda until the time we said good-bye to her and the rest of the amazing and friendly staff, we (yes, all 14 of the attendees) had an awesome time and experience. Chef Junior did an amazing job preparing exceptional meals that exceeded our expectations. While the Villa is beautiful and spacious, the staff brings it to life by providing outstanding service with personality. There is an interest by many members of our group to make this an annual trip. Thank you all for making this a wonderful trip!!

FIRST CLASS STAY * * * * *

Bob from California wrote…
Stayed March 2015 / Submitted March 2015:

My group stay at Villa Pandora 3/10-3/16. Words cannot describe our stay. We were pampered from the very first minute we arrived on property. The staff is unbelievable. Charlo, Maria, and our 5 star chef Junior Perez were what made our trip special. This was our 2nd stay at the Villa and we thought there was no way that they could top our 1st stay but they did with consistent eye for the detail . We will be coming here for many years to come.

GREAT FOR A GUY’S GOLF TRIP * * * *

Phil K. wrote…
Stayed February 2015 / Submitted March 2015:

A great house with view of water with excellent staff.

FABULOUS FAMILY VACATION * * * * *

Happy from Naples, Florida wrote…
Stayed January 2015 / Submitted January 2015:

We took our family to Punta Cana for our 50th wedding anniversary. From the time we contacted Anders the success of our trip was assured. The house was as fabulous and comfortable as the pictures. Everyone was so attentive and were concerned with our welfare and happiness. Moises helped us with planning meals and excursions. Griselda was at the house often making sure things were going smoothly and drivers arrived, etc. and what can I say about Junior, our chef and his prep helper. Junior is a master and a culinary treasure. The meals were amazing and beautiful. We ate together, at one long table, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our eldest granddaughter said having all 17 of us sit down together for 21 meals is her favorite memory. And we can’t forget to thank the housekeepers, Charo and Maria, for all their kindnesses to the children. Thank you Villa Pandora for giving us so many wonderful memories.

CELEBRATED MY 50TH BIRTHDAY THERE WITH 14 OF MY CLOSEST FRIENDS AND IT WAS AWESOME! * * * * *

Tina D. wrote…
Stayed October 2014 / Submitted October 2014:

Its always a little scary to rent a house sight unseen, but Anders the President of the Management company was amazing to work with and alleviated my fears! The house was amazing and the staff made it even better! They were fantastic – especially Junior our chef – he was unbelievable (I think many of our group were trying to kidnap him – ha ha!) The beach was literally 20 steps away. It was very clean (quite a bit a seaweed but I think that depends on what time of the year you go) and we made quick friends with Sasha – the Russian homeless guy who has been stranded there. He was the major of the beach even though he spoke no english!!

Griselda was our group/house manager and she was awesome! She helped us set-up excursions, took us to great local bars and partied with us! We all loved her! The rest of the staff – Charo and Johani were the most pleasant and accommodating girls ever – sometimes hard to communicate due to language barriers but a fun game of charades always got us close!

When it comes to the excursions – we did the doc fish, dune buggies and reef excursion. The doc fish was well worth it – we all wanted to do it again! The dune buggies were fun – just be prepared to stop multiple times for organized “buy from the locals”. The reef excursion was sub par. If you like snorkeling – don’t waste your time or money. I attached the highlights in my pictures.

The ride there from the airport was fine for the large group that arrived at the same time, but a snafu for others that came separately.

One thing to consider – this house is not in a heavy commercial area so transportation is necessary if you want to go to a casino or sightsee – definitely doable just a pain. My 50th birthday celebration was perfect and this house is well worth the investment!

BEST SERVICE EVER! * * * * *

Larry from New Jersey wrote…
Stayed September 2014 / Submitted October 2014:

Just got back from our guys trip at the Villa Pandora. I have been to the DR 3 times. This trip was by far the best because of Anders and his team. I’m always concerned with safety first when not staying at a hotel. Once I set foot on the premises I felt more secure then I do at home in NJ. The Villa has a private gate and a 24/7 security guard that sits between the beach and the house. Plus, the staff stay and sleep on the premises. The Villa was spotless and the views from every level were awesome. I can’t describe how incredible the meals were every day that Junior provided. Junior has to be the best chef on the island and that perpetual smile on his face is so inspiring. Anders and his team took care of everything one would want or desire. They provided transportation for the 8 of us everywhere all day and night. The van would be waiting for us and our host or hostess were always with us making sure we safe, sound and happy. Anders made the whole trip seamless making reservations for our cigar tour, golf and deep sea fishing. The location of the Villa was perfect. 15 minutes from the Hard Rock casino, golf course and of course 10 steps to the beach. We had a blast and if I could I would give this place 10 stars. Thanks again for making this trip something we will never forget.

OUTSTANDING IN PUNTA CANA * * * * *

Rob P. from Rockville, Maryland wrote…
Stayed March 2014 / Submitted April 2014:

This property is fantastic. The setting could not be nicer. The house is beautiful. The chef and staff were wonderful. Golf Course were some of the best I have played (I have played a lot) and the most beautiful. Anders and Stig were wonderful host and you never had to worry about a thing. I highly recommend!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED * * * * *

Flogman59 from Huntsville, Alabama wrote…
Stayed January 2014 / Submitted March 2014:

Great house with a great location and staff for every need!

VILLA PANDORA AND PALMERA TRAVEL IN PUNTA CANA * * * * *

Jason H. wrote…
Stayed December 2013 / Submitted January 2014:

If you are fortunate enough to connect with Anders regarding Villa Pandora. DO NOT HESITATE…The beach house is outstanding!!! The decor of the house is equally impressive as the design team did a terrific job. The layout of the house is perfect and the stroll to the ocean is glorious. The staff at the Villa Pandora are excellent!! The golf is phenomenal. Punta Espada is well worth it. My group will be returning for another unforgettable experience.

VILLA PANDORA * * * * *

Nancy from Berkeley, CA wrote…
Stayed December 2013 / Submitted January 2014:

We had a great stay. The house is beautiful, the staff were very responsive and helpful, and the food was incredible. I think I gained 5 pounds thanks to Junior. The only criticism I have is that the main doors slammed shut. In addition to being loud and unpleasant, it was dangerous for our young children. One boy got his finger slammed in the door; fortunately it wasn’t serious. This should be an easy fix, and everything else was excellent. Thank you!

Save

Save